Will I lose my license if I get a DUI in South Carolina?
Whether you have been a life-long resident of Myrtle Beach or whether you are there on vacation, there may be times when you have an alcoholic beverage or two and then drive back home or to your hotel. But, if the police pull you over and you receive a DUI, this can have a major impact on your life including the possible loss of your driver’s license.
If you are charged with DUI in South Carolina and your blood-alcohol content was 0.08 or above for drivers of a legal drinking age or 0.04 or above for operators of a commercial vehicle or those under the legal drinking age, your license will be immediately revoked for 30 days. Following that, if it is your first offense, your license will be revoked for one year, although you may qualify for a limited driving privilege under certain circumstances.
What if I refuse a breath test?
You may think that if you refuse a breath test your license cannot be revoked, but in fact the opposite is true. If you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI and you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test, your license will immediately be revoked for 30 days. Following a hearing, your driver’s license may be revoked for one year even if you are not found guilty at the hearing. However, you may qualify for a limited driving privilege after six months.
Know your rights
Getting a DUI is a distressing experience. The situation is made worse when the penalties leave you unable to drive to work, to take your kids to school and to run errands. It is important to understand whether your DUI will result in license suspension and whether you will qualify for a limited driving privilege in the meantime.